Ma Chambre

It’s been a loooooong day furniture shopping avec ma mere for furniture for my apartment next year. I’m so excited to be able to decorate a new room just the way I like it, but it’s a tough job! I’m searching for a bed and a dresser right now, I’ve got a couple of options for those but what seems to be eluding me are some bar stools for the kitchen, their either two short, or they don’t come in a set of four, which would be ideal.  Sigh, I have whole summer ahead of me to find them though.  On top of it all I’m soar all over from rehearsals and going back to work.  I like it though, lets me know I’m doing good work and getting in shape 🙂

And now on to the menu

Let Plats du Jour

Song of the day: Boston- Augustana 

Heard this song while in wendy’s last night, forgot how much I loved it! Especially the piano part at the beginning. it’s awesome

Movie of the day: Au Revoir Les Enfants

Another french movie I know. I can’t help it, sometime I feel like french directors are much better at expressing subtle emotions that americans.  This is more of a serious film about the holocaust.  Julien Quentin returns to his catholic boarding school and befriends a new boy who he later finds out is Jewish, hiding from the Gestapo.

I like to watch french films because usually about halfway through the movie I get to a point where I don’t really need the subtitles anymore, and it’s an awesome way to keep up my skills over the summer so I don’t forget everything.  Which makes me think I should start looking into reading french literature for more practice, I have a day off tomorrow…. so perhaps a trip to the library is in my future.

Photos of the day:

little FYI, baby swans are called signets

This reminds me of the movie “The Little Princess” one of my favorites when I was a kid, but that’s for another post. 🙂

Recipe of the day: Candied rose petals

I know it sounds weird, eating flowers but I have always loved anything rose flavored.  When I shared the recipe for the rose tea with you all last time I decided to search for other rose creations and I came up with this one.  The rose bushes in our backyard were getting overgrown and needed pruning. Waste not! 🙂

Generally the darker the color of the petals the better they will taste, but I used very light pink ones and they were great! You can eat them by themselves (I did) but they are more meant to put on top of cakes or ice cream as an edible garnish.

simple to make!

-grab a couple of roses and carefully pull of the petals making sure that they are not bruised and are bug free. Lay them on parchment paper on top of a cookie sheet

-Take one egg white and mix with one teaspoon of water

– using a pastry brush, lightly brush both sides with the eggwash

-IMMEDIATELY sprinkle sugar on both sides of the petals

-Leave them out to sit for 24 hours and harden

voila! they are done!

à bientôt



2 responses to “Ma Chambre

Leave a comment