Le mariage

So I was one of the few college students to set an alarm and wake up at 5:00 a.m. to watch the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton.  I am SO glad I did.  It was absolutely magical, the abbey was beautiful, her dress breathtaking, the energy of the crowds was electric.  I am so glad that I was able to witness this once in a lifetime epic event live and share in the excitement with everyone else.

It’s frustrating to me when people make fun of me for caring about this.  this is absolutely a historical event and the entire world is watching.  It’s so refreshing to have all eyes on the news watching a joyful event for once.  With all of the sadness, corruption, and destruction that is always watched and featured on the news it brightens the day to wake up and witness such a happy and beautiful event.  I understand that not everyone cares as much about the royal family or even the UK like I do, but is there something wrong with being interested?

All judgement aside, it was absolutely worth it to sacrifice a few hours of sleep to witness the wedding live.  It’s something I will remember for the rest of my life.

for today’s menu I am going to dedicate it to all things British and all things royal wedding. If you are not a fan then you should probably stop reading now. Just a little warning 🙂

For those of you who didn’t see it live you can watch the replay of the wedding at 8p.m. on TLC tonight.

Les Plats du Jour:

Song of the day: Vega4 \”Life is Beautiful\” 

I absolutely love this song.  you might recognize it from the Disney African Cats movie commercial.  This song is such a lovely reminder of how beautiful and miraculous our world is.  I got a similar feeling from watching the wedding this morning.  there is beauty and happiness in this chaotic world.

Video of the day: 

Sorry I had to choose a longer video, but it is the best shot of my favorite part of the wedding.  When Kate steps out onto the balcony and said “oh wow!” It was such a sweet moment.  Can you imagine having all of those people watching your wedding? Their balcony kiss was worlds away from Charles and Diana’s awkward kiss 30 years earlier.  Already a much healthier relationship.

Photos of the day:

the much-anticipated mystery dress. I AM IN LOVE. Until recently I never really had anyone that I considered to be my personal style icon, but Kate has become that for me.  I like to think i have similar tastes in fashion with her.  I try to dress in simple classic pieces with just a touch of personal flair, and I love how Kate captures the same idea in her day-to-day fashions.

Her wedding dress was no exception.  She managed to beautifully merge tradition and modern design in this beautiful ivory satin Alexander McQueen dress.  The lace was all hand-made and I loved her veil.  I’m usually not a fan of veils at all, especially blusher veils, I don’t want my face to be covered for my wedding, but I thought it looked lovely and complemented the dress perfectly.  Also I was so happy that Kate decided to wear a dress with sleeves.  It was very appropriate for the venue yet still her style.

Not to be outdone was her sister Pippa’s dress.  Stunning! So sleek and modern.  Perfectly tailored and timeless.

DIY of the day: Wedding lace headband

I love this idea for a headband made of refurbished lace from a wedding dress. It’s a nice way to re-use the fabric from a dress you will probably never wear again. However, if you don’t want to cut up your dress (or if you don’t have one yet) you can always buy one from a thrift store for hardly any money at all.

Here’s the tutorial

http://www.maryjanesandgaloshes.com/2010/06/i-do-re-done-headband-tutorial.html

Recipe of the day: Vanilla milk tea

What’s a royal wedding without a cup of tea? This is my absolute favorite way to drink tea. Prepare to have your life changed.

I found this recipe in a book on Victorian tea parties that my mom gave  me.  the original recipe calls for a quarter cup of milk heated in a sauce pan and then infused with half a scoop of vanilla bean.

However I think my way is much easier and just as tasty.

  • Take a quarter cup of milk (or less if you don’t plan on making a full pot of tea, however you can always keep the leftover milk in the fridge)
  • add two tablespoons of pure vanilla extract
  • heat in the microwave for about 45 seconds
  • pour into a separate creamer cup and let cool while your tea steeps.  (this recipe works the best with a simple english or irish breakfast tea)
  • Pour some of the milk into a tea-cup and THEN add the tea.  The vanilla flavor will smell and taste wonderful in the tea.

Add sugar to your taste and enjoy!

That’s all the wedding gossip I have for now.  Congratulations to William and Kate! The new Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, may they live happily ever after.

à bientôt


Leave a comment